Railways Takes Measures to Enhance Safety & Security of Passengers

Railways Takes Measures to Enhance Safety & Security of Passengers
The measures taken by the Railways to improve safety and security of passengers are as under:-

1. On vulnerable and identified routes/ sections, 1300 trains (on an average) are escorted by Railway Protection Force daily, in addition to 2200 trains escorted by Government Railway Police of different States daily.
2. An Integrated Security System consisting of electronic surveillance of vulnerable stations through Close Circuit Television Camera Network, access control, Anti-sabotage checks has been finalized to strengthen surveillance mechanism over 202 sensitive Railway stations.
3. Security Helpline Number ‘182’ has been operational at all zonal railways to enable all rail passengers including ladies in distress to seek security related assistance round the clock.
4. To empower the RPF to create a more effective security mechanism over Indian Railways, a proposal for amendment in the RPF Act has been moved by the Ministry of Railways with the approval of the Ministries of Law and Justice and Home Affairs.
5. RPF holds regular coordination meetings with State Police at all levels to ensure proper registration and investigation of crime by Government Railway Police (GRP).

Policing on Railways is a State Subject and prevention of crime, registration of cases and their investigation in Railway premises as well as on running trains including creation of secure environment for women passengers are, therefore, the statutory responsibility of the State Governments, which they discharge through Government Railway Police (GRP) of the States concerned. However, Railway Protection Force (RPF) supplements the efforts of Government Railway Police by deploying its staff for escorting of important trains in affected areas and access control duties at important and sensitive stations.
This information was given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Manoj Sinha in written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today.

Source: PIB

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *