Biometric Attendance System on Indian Railways


RBE No.163/2017

No. E(G)2017/LE 1-34

New Delhi, dated : 03/11/2017

The General Managers
All Zonal Railways & Production Units
(As per Standard list)


Sub : Biometric Attendance System on Indian Railways.


As you are aware, detailed instructions were issued vide Board’s letter No. E(G)2014/LE 1-27 dated 30.12.2014 regarding introduction of “Aadhar Enabled Biometric Attendance System” (AEBAS) on Indian Railways. In terms of these instructions, in the first phase, the staff working in the Zonal Headquarters Office, Administrative Office of Production Units, RDSO/Lucknow, METRO Rail/Kolkata, CORE/Allahabad and Divisional Headquarter offices which do not fall under the shift duty roster were to be covered.


It has been observed that there has been very tardy progress in the implementation of these instructions on most of the Zonal Railways/Units. In some of the Railways, the process has not yet been initiated.


Board have reviewed the progress of the implementation of these instructions, and has taken a very serious view of the slow progress made in this regard.


It is therefore directed that AEBAS should be implemented in the aforesaid offices by 30th November, 2017 and a report regarding implementation may be sent to Board immediately thereafter.

It is further directed that the AEBAS should be implemented in all the offices of the Railways including PUs, attached and subordinate offices etc. by 31st January, 2018 and a status report in this regard be furnished to Railway Board immediately thereafter.


AEBAS should be integrated and implemented in such a way that status of biometric machines and attendance at divisional/Unit Ievel should be accessible by DRM office. Similarly, all DRM offices be integrated with Zonal Railways and all the Zonal Railways with Railway Board so that monitoring of attendance of any location can be done by Railway Board. CCTV cameras should also be provided with the Biometric machine in similar fashion.


Please acknowledge receipt.

Jt. Director Estt. (Genl.)
Railway Board

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *